Fight gone bad with Wine

by regandholly

I had a most amazing day yesterday. If you follow me on Instagram or Facebook you would have seen that I got to go for a helicopter flight over the Hunter Valley for work. We took some customers out to fly over and see the coal mines out past Singleton. It was quite spectacular and horrifying at the same time.

The Beautiful Hunter Valley Wine Country

The Beautiful Hunter Valley Wine Country

The Hunter Valley Coal Mines

The Hunter Valley Coal Mines

It was confronting to say the least.

Later that evening we took our customers out to a great Seafood restaurant, Scratchleys. I was super glad to find that I could easily eat paleo here. We got the Mixed Seafood & fruit platter to share which had an assortment of beautiful fresh oysters, crab, balmain bugs and prawns (and some hot fried seafood I didn’t eat) and an array of seasonal fruit.

I also enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner, my first glass in what feels like a really long time – at least 4 weeks! After which I felt as though my sinuses had stuffed right up. Interesting. I had another glass of wine with dinner and that did me. I was glad to crash into bed by 9:30pm.

This morning at 5am when the alarm went off I wasn’t so stoked with my beverage choice. Even moreso when I got to the box and saw the workout on the whiteboard.

“Fight Gone Bad”
Three rounds of:
Wall-ball, 9kg/6kg, 10 ft target (Reps)
Sumo deadlift high-pull, 35kg (Reps)
Box Jump, 20″ box (Reps)
Push-press, 35kg (Reps)
Row (Calories)

In this workout you move from each of five stations after a minute. The clock does not reset or stop between exercises. This is a five-minute round from which a one-minute break is allowed before repeating. On call of “rotate”, the athletes must move to next station immediately for best score. One point is given for each rep, except on the rower where each calorie is one point.

Ouch, this hurt. I was feeling particulary sluggish this morning. Coach had said we should aim for 200-300 reps, with anything above 300 to be quite good. I got 195 and that was a struggle. But I did it, post wine and all, however I don’t recommend drinking wine the night before Crossfit. I won’t be doing it again anytime soon.

