Piña Colada Smoothie Goodness

by regandholly

So the last couple of weeks I have been on a smoothie rampage! Can’t quite pinpoint why I am loving them so much but I am! Last week while in Sydney for the most amazing C3 Presence conference I grab a big bag of 180 Nutrition Coconut Protein Powder. I love 180 Nutrition – its the most natural protein powder I have found, using grass-fed whey protein and no nasty additives or sweeteners. I highly recommend you check it out.. The texture and flavour may not be your thing, it doesn’t devolve as well as others, but I’m okay with that, especially when I blend it in my smoothie!

My go to smoothie flavours have been using banana, coffee shot, almond milk, maca powder and maybe some cacao. Although the other day I made a delicious berry one using coconut milk, frozen raspberries and Acai. Today I thought I should branch out! I bought some super ripe pineapple yesterday, chopped it up and froze it and what better to make than a piña colada protein shake post WOD! Which by the way was epic for me!

WOD 1/5/13 (can you believe it’s May already? Yikes!)

EMOM for 7 mins

2 Power Cleans (@70% 1RM, touch and go)

1 Push Jerk

I used 30kgs

Then, 5 rounds for time:

400m Run

10 Thrusters (52/35kg)

I really wanted to RX this work out (which means to use the prescribed weight, in this instance that is 35kg for females) but I could only just get 3 thrusters out on my first round, so I dropped it back to 25kg. We had a cut off of 20 mins and I actually only completed 4 rounds in that time. Another fun day at crossfit 🙂

Pina Colada Smoothie Recipe

Half small pineapple cut in chunks and frozen

2 small kiwi fruit

1 cup coconut milk

1 handful of spinach

2 scoops of protein powder

2 tsp wheatgrass

Blend all ingredients until smooth and creamy. I had to add about 1/4 cup water to get it moving! Enjoy! Serves 2.

 

