#365daysoffoodchoices Day 16

by regandholly

So day 16 actually didn’t exist for me. We flew over the international date line on Tuesday 15th January night and automatically lost the 16th January. So I thought I would talk to you about the importance of drinking enough water! This is something I find I can do very easily if I am in one place – like at work for the day, but struggle with if I am out and about. that’s why I always try to make sure I have a bottle of water with me!

580439_468551439878730_1865536426_n

 

In addition to the general importance of drinking water, research also suggests that staying hydrated during long haul flights helps reduce jetlag.

“One suggested method of minimizing jet lag effects is to drink plenty of water before, during and after the flight. Some doctors recommend that you drink two eight-ounce glasses of water right before departure. Dehydration is highly possible during airplane travel, due to dry cabin air. It results in diminished blood flow to your muscles, reduced kidney functions and fatigue, all of which induce jet lag. You can prevent dehydration by drinking one liter of water for every six hours of flight in addition to beverages you drink with meals. Even if you may not be thirsty, it is important to drink water on a regular basis throughout the flight, because the body’s thirst mechanism does not warn you early about dehydration.” Source

So make sure you are drinking enough water everyday. I aim for about 3-4 litres a day, particularly if I am excising!

