#365daysoffoodchoices Day 2

by regandholly

Wandering around New York City has been fun, and I have been surprised by the array of food options available to suit what I am after. However, given that we have been walking around weather of about 0’C I have been likely inclined to choose comfort foods which often leave me feeling heavy.

We found a natural food restaurant on Spring St Soho to cozy up in out of the cold. I was really happy with the choice I made today-I went with a nacho salad. It was simple and delicious, giving my a great mix of complex carbs, protein and fats! I was mixed leafy greens, tomato, brown rice, black beans, spicy salsa and guacamole. I left on my plate the sour cream (trying to reduce dairy intake), red onion (I don’t like it raw) and the corn chips (I ate a couple of normal ones, but there were purple and red ones so I thought I would avoid the colour).

That left me feeling satisfied and comforted from the warm beans and rice, but it wasn’t too heavy either!

I have a picture, but can’t get it to load – will update later 🙂

20130103-105844.jpg

