Queenstown – Up the Mountain, Down the Mountain and a Bear

by regandholly

Yesterday Jodie arrived from Auckland. Sir received an early text from her before she departed stating “Bear Grylls is on my plane!”. This got him up quick smart to ensure he didn’t miss the trip out to pick Jodie up, with the real motive being to spot Bear. We waited patiently for the plane to land, which in itself was quite cool to see. I talked the other day about the landing, but that was when I was on the plane, watching it from the airport was different again. Bear, being the celebrity that he is, got off the plane first with his crew. Not wanting to miss the opportunity, Sir walked right up to him, hand out, and arranged for a picture.

Bear and the Baker Boys

Bear and the Baker Boys

As you can see, all three of the Baker men were excited to see him! I took the photo, not worried about missing out on being in the picture. Bear was a little quick to leave and almost didn’t seem to want the picture. I thought it must have been because he was surprised to be spotted, while wanting to be unnoticed. But, he then rushed to the bathroom and I completely understood.. I am not my friendliest when needing to relieve myself! hehe. I don’t think anyone in the airport knew he was coming, except for us, given the whispers that we heard as Bear walked through the terminal “That’s F*%#ing Bear Grylls!”. I thought this was humorous!

The morning lead to a bit of panic on my part as we began to discuss what we needed clothes-wise for the track. This where once again I felt ill-informed/prepared. Apparently we shouldn’t take anything that is made of cotton, because cotton holds moisture and sucks moisture from the skin. So that ruled out of my attire most of my tops and all of the pants I brought to walk in. Given that my underwear is cotton, I will have to make sure I put my wet weather gear on before it starts raining. Wet added to very cold conditions would not be fun! So turns out I was missing quite a few essential items. Luckily Queenstown has plenty of stores that cater for outdoor activities.. so off we went to Katmandu. I purchased a mid-layer polar fleece (managed to get comfortably into a girls size 12, thus saving me some $$), polar fleece pants, some merino tops (from glassons!), microfiber towels, and for Sir, some more thermals (a stripy top and bottoms – I will snap a pic at some point, he will look like a Croxford boy – super cute!), and a jacket.. Ah – I think I am ready… maybe.

In the afternoon we headed out to Mountain Bike. Unexpectedly, I had to ride a full suspension bike, I am used to my hard tail, however, after coming down that Mountain I can see why a full suspension was necessary! We went to the Queenstown Bike Park which is a steep pine covered recreational reserve. The gondola is the way to get up, so we bought passes for the afternoon. The scenery is amazing from the top, all the way down to the bottom spectacular views distract! I had to make sure I wasn’t looking at them too much.. given that I was riding down the mountain at quite a pace. Back at home when I ride down Snakes and Ladders in Glenrock, there is one corner with an amazing view that I always almost come off!

View going up the gondola

View going up the gondola

I stuck to the easiest track, happy with the challenge that it was for me. We rode consistently for about 3.5 hours, I only got down four times during that. The second run was amazing, I felt confident and was a little too confident at times. The third run I began to get tired, so I could feel my concentration and control waining. I went up a fourth time because Jodie and Prue stopped riding and Luke and Amy came up for their first run, which I lead the way. As expected, due to my tiredness, I stacked it twice.. just skidded out on the corners, I think because I took them too slowly. Despite that the afternoon was so much fun, and I definitely want to get back on my bike more when I get home!

The crew before our first run! From left to right, Prue, Tim, Me, Reg, Jodie

The crew before our first run! From left to right, Prue, Tim, Me, Reg, Jodie

Sir and I after returning the bikes - both very exhausted, but thoroughly happy with our ride

Sir and I after returning the bikes – both very exhausted, but thoroughly happy with our ride

Selfie! So stoked with my efforts :)

Selfie! So stoked with my efforts 🙂

Today we are resting and getting things ready for tomorrow! Don’t be concerned, but I won’t be posting until after the track now, unless something amazing happens today of course!

 

