Queenstown – Middle Earth

by regandholly

Today has been spectacular! We had a late night to bed, and then a restless morning since some of the family got up at 3:30am to watch the Rugby. I got up at 7:30am, had a delicious breaky, just overnight cinnamon oats, greek yoghurt and banana. Yu-um. I so look forward to it everyday! We then headed out to the airport to pick up Sal and Luke about 9 am. The sun was wonderfully warm, and the sky oh so clear!

399287_10151134740090868_477314567_n

 

I got home and smashed out a quick workout, 5 Rounds of 100 skips, 50 squats which I finished in 14:02 minutes. Then I did 5 rounds of 10 walking lunges and 5 push ups. A total of 18 minutes all up, great quick, tough workout. Feels good to be keeping up the hard work, especially with all the sitting I have been doing!

Talking about sitting, this morning we went for a two hour drive out of Queenstown to a little town called Arrowtown. The scenery was so lovely. I have no photo’s of Arrowtown itself, but in my poor attempt to describe it, it was a mixture of a western town with saloons and early settlement cobblestones. Arrowtown was settled on the finding of gold back in the 1800’s. It was a beautiful town to wander, although we didn’t have long to spare since we had plans for lunch.

Wild Flowers are lining the roads everywhere

Wild Flowers are lining the roads everywhere

315889_10151134692660868_533916780_n

Local cherries I bouth in Arrowtown, picked fresh yesterday

Local cherries I bouth in Arrowtown, picked fresh yesterday

We headed home, had a BBQ lunch then headed out again. Just to grab some stuff at the shops.. I ducked into the supermarket to grab some nuts and dates to make myself some of my raw nut energy balls that is really just the base from my recipe I shared the other day.

We had a quick stop at home, refueled with some peanut butter on corn thins and I grabbed an apple and nuts for our next adventure. This time, all of us, Mum & Dad Baker, Reg, Sally, Luke, Tim, Prue, Amy and myself, went the opposite direction to normal, out to Glenorchy & Paradise.  The scenery this way was incredible, and breathtaking.

Wooded roads with streaming sunlight

Wooded roads with streaming sunlight

From the lookout only about 10kms into the drive.. the snow capped peaks were spectacular!

From the lookout only about 10kms into the drive.. the snow capped peaks were spectacular!

Timmy and I at the lookout

Timmy and I at the lookout

Sir and I at the lookout

Sir and I at the lookout

More wild flowers

More wild flowers

Sheeeeep!

Sheeeeep!

Sir taking some great pictures

Sir taking some great pictures

One of Sir's pics

One of Sir’s pics

I photo I accidentally took so well on Sir's phone

I photo I accidentally took so well on Sir’s phone

You may recall some of these scenes from The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, hence my hash-tagging and calling this post “Middle Earth”. This is truly a beautiful place and you can see why so many films come to capture some of the sights.

We got home late, around 8pm, but of course it was still light. It is now finally getting dark at 9:55pm. I am thinking I will go get in bed with a cup of tea and my book, in a home I get to sleep early!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

