Queenstown – An Introduction

by regandholly

We had a 9:45am flight from Auckland this morning. After our late night, about 12am, we decided getting up at 7:30am should give us enough time to get ready and go. Mind you, 7:30am NZ time is 5:30am EST. This is about the usual that I wake up at home, and surprisingly it wasn’t too hard. We got ready, had some breaky, just oats and protein powder milk.. Zac was up multi-tasking, watching morning TV and playing computer games.. when he found we were up, he offered to make us pancakes. Such a sweetheart that kid! We left on time, 8:30am, however, Sir forgot the bag with the laptop (which I am using now, so certainly grateful that we turned around to get it).. so we went home again to get it, as such making us arrive at check-in as it was closing, and going through security as the plane was boarding. Never mind, this never surprises me – we often arrive at the Airport just in time.. We boarded the plane to find that we were seated with the rest of the Bakers – fancy that.. I wonder if it was done on purpose?? This made for a fun two hour flight. Sir was sneeky and took some extra pics while we flew!

Coast view after departing Auckland Airport

Coast view after departing Auckland Airport

So we arrived in Queenstown. And my.. it is beautiful! It’s quite a funny place to land.. As the plane descends it actually flies through a lot of the terrain, so you get quite close to the mountains. Additionally, you come onto the runway towards and beside the mountains. I am told that take off is interesting as you take off over the edge of the cliff you come in on. I will let you know how that goes!

Mountains encircling the Queenstown Airport. Ruggedly beautiful.

Mountains encircling the Queenstown Airport. Ruggedly beautiful.

By the time we landed and left the airport in our super sweet as bus/van we have hired, we were all beginning to get a little hangry. Hangry is the point were you become so hungry that you actually get angry. Hence hangry. We decided we would go to the house in Fernhill that we have rented for the week and settle in while we waited for Aunty Jan and Mum Baker to get there (Aunty Jan flew in 15mins later than us and Mum Baker waited for her). The house managed to be an awesome distraction from our hanger.. It has the most spectacular views.. Words cannot describe and these pictures hardly do them justice!

Lake Wakatipu and Mountain backdrop

Lake Wakatipu and Mountain backdrop

Sir and I stoked by the view from our balcony

Sir and I stoked by the view from our balcony

View from the kitchen bench as I drank my cuppa!

View from the kitchen bench as I drank my cuppa!

We went into town in search of food and did we find some! So obviously my goal is to maintain my healthy and as clean as possible eating while we travel. I understand that this will be a challenge, but I am willing to give it my best shot. Options discussed as we walked the streets of Queenstown became Mexican or Kebabs. Consensus was kebabs. I was concerned as all I could think of are the dirty, greasy kebabs you pick up at 2am when you are still drunk. Not that that occurs these days, but I have to admit I have done that! The moment we walked into this cafe/kebab shop I could tell this was different! The salad options were amazing.. green beans with cinnamon & caramelised onion, beetroot salad, spinach, brown rice, lentil, blackbeans and there were some other great options.I know the meat wouldn’t have been the leanest option, but I had chicken with blackbeans, spinach and beetroot and it was AMAZING! A little large in portion size, but incredible non the less!

Here is a terrible picture of me enjoying my kebab!

Here is a terrible picture of me enjoying my kebab!

We then did some necessary things like groceries and naps.. Every actually napped until about 7pm. Sir and I did an awesome workout at about 7:30pm.. We made it up ourselves, we went out into the empty garage and did the following:

6 Rounds for time:

10 push ups

30 plank on hands (not elbows)

10 squats

1 min skipping

I finished in 13:49 minutes, a little way behind Sir. The plank after push ups were a massive challenge! We then finished with Tabata of plank burpees.. I managed to get 8 out every 20 seconds.. and collapsed at the end for quite a few minutes. I felt great! After 2 full days of travel and sitting down I so desperately needed to move, since I was feeling like I didn’t want to. My tailbone is super sore, hoping that settles as I move around over the next few days!

Going to put in my little “bummer” “sulk” note here. Silly me left my Polar Heart Rate Monitor strap at Zea’s place. Yep in Sydney. I had so wanted to see how I would go on the trek, but no luck given that I have spent a good part of today asking in at all of the Polar retailers in Queenstown if I can just get a strap. Nope, it has to be ordered and won’t arrive before we leave. Sad face. Lucky Zea is amazing and is sending it over to Auckland so I can get it before we leave for the States..

It’s been quite an odd feeling here, given that the sun doesn’t set until around 9:15pm.. We all sat around without any lights on until around 9pm before we realise we should do something and then head to bed.

Broad daylight at 9pm!

Broad daylight at 9pm!

So we headed out to find a cafe/ice cream shop.. this was more difficult than expected. After some wandering in the rain, yes the rain has set in.. we found a dairy that sold tip top ice cream.. I didn’t get one as I felt more like a hot chocolate, which I found a little while on at Starbucks.. I know this isn’t healthy, but I can things like that on occasion. It was a peppermint hot chocolate and was totally worth it. We found this random Korean shop with a whole lot of random stuff.. I got lots of strange looks too.. I wonder why??

Lamb beanie/gloves..

Lamb beanie/gloves..

