Trekking…

by regandholly

So I have done some research today into the first leg of our journey.. The Milford Track. I am beginning to think that maybe I should have looked at this earlier, say before I agreed, given what I have found out/been told just recently.

It snowed in Queenstown on the weekend. In November, our last month of spring in the Southern Hemisphere. Snow. I also read today to expect at least one day to be wet. Wet. Those are two things I don’t generally work well with, being cold and wet. But I will have to get over that. I will pack my thermals and hire wet weather gear and pray it stays dry!

Food cannot be purchased along the way, but must be packed in advance. This is okay, and understandable. But when trying to think of thins to have for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks that are not needing refridgeration (mind you, with the snow and all anything cold should be fine!), relatively light (since I will have everything in my pack on my back), and for me – nutritious and “clean”.  This was a little challenge, but I came up with the following:

Day 1

Snack: Corn Thins/Ryvitas with PB & Apple

Dinner: Something Precooked

Snack: Dark Chocolate & nuts

 

Day 2

Breakfast: Boiled Eggs on Rye bread & banana & coffee

Snack: Gerkins? & Cheese

Lunch: Salami & Cheese Sandwhich

Snack: Protein Shake & PB Corn Thin/Ryvita

Dinner: Salmon & Rice & Beans

Snack: Dark Chocolate & nuts

 

Day 3

Breakfast: Breakfast: Oats with cinnamon/stevia/seeds & banana & coffee

Snack: Protein Shake and Nuts

Lunch: Tuna Sandwich

Snack: Apple & Cheese

Dinner: Couscous with salami & SD toms & beans

Snack: Dark Chocolate & nuts

 

Day 4

Breakfast: Oats with cinnamon/stevia/seeds & banana & coffee

Snack: Boiled Eggs & Carrot

Lunch: Tuna/cheese sandwich

I am also thinking I will make some protein bars/cookies before we leave. Everything will be packed in portion sizes, in order not to take too much. Nuts will be a go to if I get peckish. I am currently unsure if the rest of the family will do the same plan as me, but I am open to suggestions.

Oh here is a look-see at the map for the trek. The first day we only walk for about an hour. The remaining days we walk for about 6. I am really looking forward to it, despite my little complain about the snow and wet. It is meant to be one of the best walks to do, and has spectacular views.

Milford Track Map

So my questions today are:

– Do you have experience in trekking and have recommendations for necessary items for me?

– How does my food list sound?

1 Week until our adventure begins!

