Baked Oatmeal

by regandholly

Oats are my staple breakfast. I seriously cannot get enough of them or get over them or get bored with them. They are like that perfect dress that can be dressed up with a pair of heels and the right accessories, or dressed down with a pair of flats and topknot. Oats are just that versatile that I could eat them every morning and then some. the otehr day I had them for breakfast and for lunch!

Sometimes I will cook them the night before, and keep them in the fridge to eat cold the next morning. Sometimes I will cook them fresh in the morning and they will be creamy and warm. Sometimes I will mix them with seed and coconut and not cook them at all, but soak them in almond milk overnight. Sometimes they will be chocolate with peanut butter, somtimes they will just be peanut butter. Sometimes they will be cinnamon topped with banana, or with blueberries stirred through. I have even gotten really creative at times and made raspberry cheesecake oats or apple pie oats (this is my latest obsession!). Basically they can be anything you want them to be! And that’s why I love them so.

Last night I felt inspired after I did my groceries and washed and chopped veggies to juice in the morning. I have had a headcold since Friday and I need to kick it to the curb. I always get a massive boost when I have fresh juice in the morning, plus its an awesome way to get some veggies in me when all I feel like (and have been eating) is bread! Another bonus was that lots of veggies that I love to use in my juice were on special last night. This mornings concoction was cucmuber, carrot, celery, kale, ginger, lemon and a splash of apple cider vinegar.. delish!

mmmm. veggies in a juice.

So back to last night’s inspiration. I have seen many versions of baked oatmeal on the many many blogs I follow, but never had I ventured to make it. Last night I just decided to mix it up a little and see just how versatile my oats could be. I didn’t look at a recipe, I just went with my normal kind of ingredients and baked them… as follows:

Ingredients:

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup almond milk (unstweetened)

6 egg whites

1 apple chopped

cinnamon (i use HEAPS)

sprinkle of stevia

Method:

Pre-heat oven to 180’C. Chop apple and in oven-proof glass dish mix in with cinnamon & stevia. Add oats, egg whites, milk and stir. I added a few blueberries, which next time I will throw the whole punnet in because they were amazing! Then sprinkle some more cinnamon over the top and put in pre-heated oven. Bake for 20-30 minutes. Store in fridge. This amount will probably feed me for 3-4 mornings.

I ate mine this morning, a little heated, with a big dollop of greek yoghurt and a drizzle of rice malt syrup (you could use honey) and it was delicious!

I highly recommend you try this out 🙂

What is your go to breakfast?

