After Dinner Mint. And a Recipe

by regandholly

I LOVE my new Teapot ❤ ❤ ❤

I am having a delicious T2 Peppermint in order to beat any after dinner/study cravings that might attempt to get me..

Speaking of delicious, the dinner I made. As I was driving home from work, and was on the thought pattern of not wanting to cook and instead get take out. Friday nights have an unnerving ability to knock my healthy eating lifestyle right off track. But not this one. I reasoned with myself and came up with the following two pertinent reasons to behave and cook something balanced and nutritious for dinner..

1. Bootcamp is on at 6:30am tomorrow morning. I know that “Sir” & I both struggle with giving 100% to a morning workout if we have eaten poorly the night before.

2. I am going on a Hen’s dinner tomorrow night and know that I will be eating out. I only need to do this once on a weekend, so tomorrow night it is.

Earlier this week I talked about getting back on track, my eating has been pretty good – I had a little meltdown at uni yesterday and attacked some chocolate, but other than that I am consistently making sensible choices. It can be so hard at times, and I was totally kicking myself for giving in yesterday, but these things happen and that’s why I am preparing myself before the craving kicks in tonight. In terms of working out, I am yet to be out of bed in time for a gym session since Tuesday. But I am back at Bootcamp and feeling ready to kick it up a notch (did I really just use “kick” 3 times in 2 sentences?gah).. Hopefully I will be used to Daylight Savings and have re-organised my sleeping pattern by next week!

So anyway, dinner.. I came home, all meat frozen (because once again forgot to get any out)… My fridge is getting bare too – so I wanted to use what I had and not go to the shops. I got Pork Medallions out of the freezer and proceeded to defrost. I had tomatoes, apples, feta and avocado all begging to be used.

Solution: Pork with Apple Feta Salsa

Ingredients

Pork Medallions – I had 5 small

1 Apple

2 Tomatoes

1 Red Onion

100g Feta

1/2 Lemon juiced

1 Tbs Vinegar

1/2 Avocado

Dice Apple, Tomatoes, Onion to make salsa. Pan fry pork until sealed. Add lemon juice, salsa and vinegar. Cook until pork is cooked through and salsa is soft. Dish with Brown Rice and top with Avocado. Enjoy.

I totally forgot to take a picture, we devoured it. Next time I make it, I will! Sorry I also really struggled with my use of language – may come back later to re-write!  I’m off to (hopefully) finish an assignment.. I have to keep reminding myself to keep going, especially after a terrible week of sleep and hectic work schedule… only 4 more weeks of my degree and then a holiday!!

No time for boring nutshells around here! 🙂

